The United Nations Security Council (UNSC) was founded in 1945 as the League of Nations was transforming into the United Nations (UN) of our day. Coming forward as a new establishment rather than a new organization, the United Nations embraces and authorizes the Security Council as an international organization that primarily aims to protect international peace and security. Examining the operation and the nature of the Security Council, one can see the clear reflections of the aims of the UN. Said aims are listed in Article 1 of the Charter of the UN. The Charter also imposes an obligation on Member States to implement the decisions made by the Security Council. Considering this, it can be deduced that the Council is distinguished from other bodies of the UN, which are only authorized to present suggestions to the Member States. The Security Council gathers its sessions with 15 Members with each member being entitled to one vote for the purposes of decision-making. The mentioned members are distinguished in two groups; Permanent Members and Non-Permanent Members. The Permanent Members of the Security Council, also known as the “permanent five” or the “P5”, are namely The Republic of China, France, The Russian Federation, The United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland and The United States of America. The permanencies of these members derive from decisions taken in the formation process of the fundamentals of the Security Council. The fact that these States have also been equipped with a right to veto any action taken by the Security Council still maintains its influence on the international community of today, since the legal regulations of the authority of P5 remains intact. The ten Non-Permanent seats of the Council are allocated to Members States for an interval of two years by the election carried out by the General Assembly. The principle of equitable geographic distribution constitutes the criteria applied in these allocations. Current Non-Permanent members of the Security Council are namely: Belgium, Côte d’Ivoire, Dominican Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Germany, Indonesia, Kuwait, Peru, Poland and South Africa. 

Agenda Item:

The maritime coalition led by US against the Persian Gulf